Four Ways I Nurture My Creativity as a Writer and Stay-at-Home Mom

Ally Garofalo
4 min readDec 14, 2023

--

Let’s set the foundation for a solid productivity strategy.

I’m a stay-at-home mom; it’s fulfilling yet demanding but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

The constant juggling of responsibilities around the house, working, and caring for my little one is the exhausting hamster wheel I’m currently running on. But nothing an afternoon espresso shot can’t fix.

However, I came to the realization (and have now come to terms with) how unprepared I was for the very little time I would have for my creative passion projects. As a natural-born storyteller, I bring an overflow of creative ideas to my keyboard. Whether I am working on a content marketing strategy for work or sitting down to craft an article or an idea for a new book, I am enthusiastic to write my next piece. With a toddler running around, often getting fussy due to teething or protesting a nap, my creative writing has unfortunately taken a backseat. Creative writing used to be the co-captain to my driver, navigating what I would produce next.

If you also have a passion for creative writing, I’m here to tell you that maybe (just maybe) — I’ve cracked the code.

As of late, I’ve found that it’s possible to carve out moments for inspiration, which in turn can be produced into remarkable written works. I’m sharing my own experience on what’s working. Here’s the framework that can help you indulge in the joy of creative writing.

Establishing a Writing Framework

It’s imperative to create a solid framework to support your writing craft. Start by setting clear goals for yourself, whether it’s completing a short story or writing a novel. Outline specific milestones and deadlines to keep yourself accountable and motivated.

Consider your daily routine and identify pockets of time that can be dedicated to writing. This could be during nap times, early mornings, or after the little ones have gone to bed. For me, I usually wake up earlier to sit and have a morning coffee. During this time, I like to read and, if I have an idea, I will jot it down in the notes section on my phone. Alot of the ideas from those sessions turn into articles or tidbits of information for other pieces of writing.

Maximizing Short Time Spurts

Time is a precious — especially when you’re a mom. One mistake I used to make was waiting for a long stretch of time to finally sit down to type away.

Instead of waiting for the coveted uninterrupted time, I learned to make the most of short spurts. Even in fifteen minutes, I can of focus on writing. So far, it’s yielded significant progress in efficiency.

If you’re on-the-go a lot, keep a notebook or digital device handy, so you can jot down ideas or snippets of writing whenever inspiration strikes. I’ve recently embraced the concept of “micro-writing” which acknowledges how small increments of time can accumulate into a finished piece.

Most of my articles take more than one sitting to complete and that’s okay. You have to be willing to make the most of small pockets of time throughout your day to fuel your creative outlets.

Building a Supportive Network

Writing, by and large, is a solitary pursuit. You sit alone with your thoughts and pour your heart and soul onto a blank sheet of paper.

However, connecting with fellow writers can be incredibly beneficial. Sharing ideas and feelings with others who are in the same boat can offer a sense of belonging. One way to do this? Find local writing groups or online communities where you can share your work, seek helpful feedback, and find inspiration.

Surrounding yourself with like-minded people who understand the challenges of being a parent and a writer can provide invaluable support and encouragement.

Prioritizing Self-Care

Finding a balance between caregiving responsibilities and personal aspirations is important for your overall well-being and creativity.

Remember to prioritize self-care. Take time for yourself, whether it’s engaging in activities that inspire you, practicing mindfulness, or simply enjoying moments of solitude.

Nurturing your mental and physical health will recharge your creative energy and allow you to approach your writing with renewed vigor.

If you enjoyed reading this article, please consider subscribing to get updated articles or join Medium to get full access to a wide range of quality content.

--

--